
State of California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

ABC-209 INSTR (1/04)  

INSTRUCTIONS AND GENERAL INFORMATION 

 
General Information 

 
• Type or print clearly in black or blue ink (do not 

use red). 
 
• Acronyms or form numbers used in these 

instructions: 
 
 B&P              Business & Professions Code 
      CCR              California Code of Regulations 
 211                Application for ABC License 
 
______________ 
Instructions 

 
Item 1 (Applicant's Name) — Enter the name of the 
applicant(s). For a limited partnership, limited liability 
company, or a corporation, show the name of the 
entity. 
 
Item 3 (Applicant Premises Address) — Enter the 
address where the license was to be issued. 
 
Item 4 (License Type Applied For) — Enter numeric 
designation (e.g., Type 20) or a description. 
 
Item 6 and 7 (Transferor's Name and Address)  If this 
is a transfer, enter the name of the licensee. For a 
limited partnership, limited liability company, or a 
corporation, show the name of the entity. List the 
address where the license is now issued. 
 
Item 9 (Refund Information) — Check one of the three 
boxes. One-fourth of the license fee paid, or not 
more than $100, will not be refunded. ABC will credit 
the balance of the license fee paid on any taxes then 
due from the applicant and refund the remaining 
portion. ABC will make the refund of license fees 
payable to the applicant entity shown on Form ABC-
211 (two names, maximum). However, ABC will 
make the refund payable to another entity only if you 
show acceptable documentation to ABC that another 
entity has paid the license fees. Documentation may 
be a copy of the front and back of a canceled check. 
You should mail any refund documentation to ABC 
Headquarters Attention: Refund Unit, 3927 Lennane 
Drive, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834. The 
documentation must be received within 15 days of 
the date Form ABC-209 is signed. (Sections 23959 
and 14761 B&P Code and Part 14 [Section 32001, et 
seq.,] Division 2, Revenue and Taxation Code or the 
Sales and Use Tax Law) 
 
Item 10 (Mailing Address for Refund) — Show where 
you wish to receive the refund. This may be different 
from the premises address. Business and mailing 
addresses are public information and are available to 
the public. Please consider this, especially when 
listing a mailing address. 
 

 
Items 11 and 12 (Signatures) — One person may sign 
on behalf of the applicant or the transferor. This must 
be the individual, a partner, corporate officer, limited 
liability company member or managing member.   
 
Either the applicant or the transferor may withdraw 
an application to transfer a license. When only one 
of these parties signs the Form ABC-209, the District 
Administrator will send a letter to both informing 
them the other party has withdrawn the application. 
 
When ABC has approved a transfer under Section 
24044 B&P Code (premises under construction), 
both the transferor and the applicant must sign the 
Form ABC-209.  
However, if ABC transfers a license under Rule 64(b) 
CCR (premises under construction), it is too late to 
withdraw the application. 
 
 
 

MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION 

 
______________ 
 
When Withdrawal Required 

 
Amending or correcting an application requires 
withdrawal and re-filing. Examples include change in 
ownership or a change from a person-to-person 
transfer to include a premises-to-premises transfer. 
 
______________ 
 
Withdrawal of Protested Applications 

 
Refiling after withdrawal. If an application is 
voluntarily withdrawn as a result of any protest, the 
applicant may not refile an application at the same 
location for one year from the date of the withdrawal. 
(Section 24013.1 B&P Code) 
 
Protests against subsequent applications.  

All verified protests filed against the issuance of the 
license at the premises shall remain valid against 
any subsequent applications filed for that premises 
for a period of one year from the date of withdrawal. 
(Section 24013.2 B&P Code) 
 
Premises where license denied, revoked.   

No license shall be issued for any premises for which 
a license has been denied or revoked, for reasons 
pertaining to the premises, unless one year has 
elapsed from the date the order becomes final. 
(Section 24013.5(a) B&P Code) 
No license shall be issued for any premises for which 
a license has been denied, for reasons pertaining to 
the premises, twice within a 36-month period, unless 
two years have elapsed from the date that the last 
order becomes final.  (Section 24013.5(b) B&P 
Code) 
 
 
 

 

 


