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State of California Deparment of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

FACT SHEET:  DECOY PROGRAM

  
Minor Decoy Program 

 
Introduction 
 
     The mission of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control (ABC) is to administer the 
provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act in 
a manner that fosters and protects the health, safety, 
welfare, and economic well being of the people of 
the State. 
 
     According to the 9th Biennial California Student 
Survey 2001-02, alcohol remains the most popular 
substance used by students.  The most visible 
consequences of underage drinking are car crashes. 
Teen drivers are responsible for a highly 
disproportionate number of collisions, injuries and 
deaths.  In relation to the number of licensed drivers, 
young people under age 21 who have been drinking 
are involved in fatal crashes at twice the rate of adult 
drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration.   
 
     Alcohol is also a factor in many homicides, 
suicides and other unintentional injuries which, 
along with car crashes, are the four leading causes 
of death of 15- to 20-year olds. Studies show that 
heavy childhood and teen drinking can lead to mild 
brain damage and increases the likelihood of having 
alcohol problems throughout adult life. The annual 
social cost of underage drinking is estimated at $53 
billion. 
 
     Alcohol use by minors is influenced by a variety 
of factors, including availability of alcohol.  
Research has shown a link between alcohol 
availability and consumption. 
 
     Minor decoy programs have been used by local 
law enforcement in California since about 1987.  
They have been evaluated and found to be 
effective.1  These operations, conducted by law 
enforcement and/or community groups, can 
markedly increase the percentage of licensees who 
comply with the minimum-purchase-age law.  In the 
last five years alone, local law enforcement officers 

                                                 
1 Increased enforcement—specifically compliance checks on 
retail alcohol outlets—typically cuts rates of sales to minors by 
at least half (Grube, 1997; Lewis et al., 1996; Preusser et al., 
1994; Wagenaar et al., 2000) 

have visited roughly 4,000-6,000 establishments per 
year in decoy operations. 
 
     Many licensees do not like the idea of decoy 
programs and refer to them as "sting operations."  
Despite this, decoy programs are legal and many 
agencies use them as an ongoing program.  On April 
7, 1994, the California Supreme Court issued a 
unanimous decision upholding the use of underage 
decoys by law enforcement officials.  
 
     By statute, minor decoys used by local law 
enforcement are immune from prosecution, and 
police agencies must notify licensees of program 
results.  Rule 141, California Code of Regulation, 
sets forth further decoy program requirements. 
 

Goals 
 
    The goals of the Minor Decoy Program are to 
reduce the number of licensees who sell alcohol to 
minors and reduce youth access to alcohol. 
 
Program Components 
 
     Program components are in Rule 141, California 
Code of Regulations.  The Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control will not file accusations without 
clear compliance with all requirements of Rule 141. 
That rule reads as follows: 
 

California Code of Regulations 
Title 4, Division 1 

Section 141.  Minor Decoy Requirements 
 

     (a) A law enforcement agency may only use a 
person under the age of 21 years to attempt to 
purchase alcoholic beverages to apprehend 
licensees, or employees or agents of licensees 
who sell alcoholic beverages to minors (persons 
under the age of 21) and to reduce sales of 
alcoholic beverages in a fashion that promotes 
fairness. 

 
     (b)  The following minimum standards shall 
apply to actions filed pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code Section 25658 in which it is 
alleged that a minor decoy has purchased an 
alcoholic beverage: 
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     (1) At the time of the operation, the decoy 
shall be less than 20 years of age; 
     (2) The decoy shall display the appearance 
which could generally be expected of a person 
under 21 years of age, under the actual 
circumstances presented to the seller of 
alcoholic beverages at the time of the alleged 
offense. 
     (3) A decoy shall either carry his or her own 
identification showing the decoy's correct date 
of birth or shall carry no identification; a decoy 
who carries identification shall present it upon 
request to any seller of alcoholic beverages; 

     (4) A decoy shall answer truthfully any 
questions about his or her age; 
     (5) Following any completed sale, but not later 
than the time a citation, if any, is issued, the 
peace officer directing the decoy shall make a 
reasonable attempt to enter the licensed premises 
and have the minor decoy who purchased 
alcoholic beverages make a face-to-face 
identification of the alleged seller of the alcoholic 
beverages. 
     (c) Failure to comply with this rule shall be a 
defense to any action brought pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code Section 25658. 

 
Results and Impact 
 
     Results are measured quantitatively by comparing 
the number of licensees visited versus the number 
who sold to the decoy. 
 

Statewide Minor Decoy Activity 
Compliance Report 

2002/03 through 2006/07 
 
 Visits by   Compli- 
 Local Law Violations  Violation ance Rate 
Fiscal Enforce- (Sales to Rate (% (% who did 
Year ment Decoys) who sold) not sell) 
 
02-03  4,262 860 20.18% 79.82% 
03-04     4,301             886          20.60%      79.40% 
04-05         6,267            1130          18.03%     81.97% 
05-06         8,427            1338         15.88%      84.12% 
06-07         6,194              984         15.89%      84.11% 
 
     Further quantitative measures include the 
number of citations issued.  If a licensee or 
employee sells alcohol to the decoy, the seller may 
receive a citation.  If convicted, the person may 
receive a fine of $250 and/or 24-32 hours of 
community service.   
 
     Arrests focus the public's attention on the 
problem and send a warning that selling alcohol to 

minors is illegal.  The goal is not to arrest as many 
people as possible, but to deter licensees from 
breaking the law in the first place. 
 
    In addition to criminal action against the seller, 
the licensee faces action by ABC.  This could 
result in a fine, suspension, or revocation of the 
ABC license, depending on the circumstances.   
 

Contact Information 
 
     For more information contact your nearest ABC 
office: 
 
Bakersfield . . . . . . . . . . . . (661) 395-2731 
Eureka . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (707) 445-7229 
Fresno . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (559) 225-6334 
Lakewood . . . . (562) 982-1337 
Los Angeles/Metro . . . . . . . (213) 833-6043 
Monvovia (626) 256-3241 
Oakland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (510) 622-4970 
Palm Desert. . . . . . . . . . (760) 324-2027 
Redding . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (530) 224-4830 
Riverside . . . . . . . . . . . . . (951) 782-4400 
Sacramento . . . . . . . . . . . . (916) 419-1319 
Salinas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (831) 755-1990 
San Diego. . . . . . . . . . . . . (619) 525-4064 
San Francisco . . . . . . . . . . (415) 356-6500 
San Jose. . . . . . . . . . . . . . (408) 277-1200 
San Luis Obispo. . . . . . . . . (805) 543-7183 
San Marcos. . . . . . . . . . . . (760) 471-4237 
Santa Ana . . . . . . . . . . . . . (714) 558-4101 
Santa Rosa . . . . . . . . . . . . (707) 576-2165 
Stockton. . . . . . . . . . . . . . (209) 948-7739 
Van Nuys . . . . . . . . . . . . . (818) 901-5017 
Ventura…………………. (805) 289-0100 
 
  

 


