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To the licensee: 
 
     Police officers, sheriffs' deputies, and ABC 
investigators are sworn law enforcement officers (peace 
officers) with powers of arrest.  Whether in plainclothes 
or uniform, peace officers have the legal right to visit and 
inspect any licensed premises at any time during business 
hours without a search warrant or probable cause.  This 
includes inspecting the bar and back bar, store room, 
office, closed or locked cabinets, safes, kitchen, or any 
other area within the licensed premises.   
 
     It is legal and reasonable for licensees to exclude the 
public from some areas of the premises.  However, 
licensees cannot and must not deny entry to, resist, delay, 
obstruct, or assault a peace officer. 
 
 
25755.  Peace officers' powers.   
 
 (a) The director and the persons employed 
by the department for the administration and 
enforcement of this division are peace officers 
in the enforcement of the penal provisions of 
this division, the rules of the department 
adopted under the provisions of this division, 
and any other penal provisions of law of this 
state prohibiting or regulating the sale, exposing 
for sale, use, possession, giving away, 
adulteration, dilution, misbranding, or 
mislabeling of alcoholic beverages or 
intoxicating liquors, and these persons are 
authorized, while acting as peace officers, to 
enforce any penal provisions of law while in the 
course of their employment.  (Emphasis added.) 
 
 (b) The director, the persons employed by 
the department for the administration and 
enforcement of this division, peace officers 
listed in Section 830.1 of the Penal Code, and 
those officers listed in Section 830.6 of the 
Penal Code while acting in the course and scope 
of their employment as peace officers may, in 
enforcing the provisions of this division, visit 
and inspect the premises of any licensee at any 
time during which the licensee is exercising 
the privileges authorized by his or her license 
on the premises.   (Emphasis added.) 
 

 
 
 (c) Peace officers of the Department of the 
California Highway Patrol, members of the 
University of California and California State 
University police departments, and peace 
officers of the Department of Parks and 
Recreation, as defined in subdivisions (a), (b), 
(c), and (f) of Section 830.2 of the Penal Code, 
may, in enforcing this division, visit and inspect 
the premises of any licensee located on state 
property at any time during which the licensee  
is exercising the privileges authorized by his or 
her license on the premises. . .   
 
 
25616.  False returns and records.   
 
 Any person who knowingly or willfully 
files a false license fee report with the 
department, and any person who refuses to 
permit the department or any of its 
representatives to make any inspection or 
examination for which provision is made in this 
division, or who fails to keep books of account 
as prescribed by the department, or who fails to 
preserve such books for the inspection of the 
department for such time as the department 
deems necessary, or who alters, cancels, or 
obliterates entries in such books of account for 
the purpose of falsifying the records of sales of 
alcoholic beverages made under this division is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished 
by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars 
($100) nor more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail 
for not less than one month nor more than six 
months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.  
(Emphasis added.) 
 
 
25752.  Records.   
 
 No licensee may manufacture, import, sell 
or distribute alcoholic beverages, except wine, 
in the State of California unless he keeps 
records at his licensed premises of such 
manufacture, importation, sale or distribution of 
alcoholic beverages manufactured, imported, 
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sold or distributed by the licensee in this State.  
Such records shall include all expenditures 
incurred by the licensee in the manufacture, 
importation, sale or distribution of alcoholic 
beverages, except wine, in this State.  Provided, 
however, that any licensee licensed at more than 
one premises may keep all said records at one of 
his licensed premises.  Records herein required 
to be kept shall be kept for a period of three 
years from the date of the transaction. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
25753.  Examining books; 
inspecting premises.   

 
 The department may make any examination 
of the books and records of any licensee or other 
person and may visit and inspect the premises of 
any licensee it may deem necessary to perform 
its duties under this division. 
 
 
Source:  California Business and Professions Code 

 
   


