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ABC, CHP and Stockton Police Run Decoy Operation to 

Prevent Underage Drinking 
10 Clerks are Cited  for Selling Alcohol to Minors 

  

(Stockton, San Joaquin County) – Investigators of the California Department of 
Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) and Officers from the California Highway Patrol and 
Stockton Police Department have cited 10 clerks for selling alcohol to minors during an 
undercover law enforcement operation on Thursday night, December 28, 2006. The 
actions were the result of a compliance check operation in which minors under the direct 
supervision of the ABC investigators attempted to purchase alcohol from 34 retail 
licensees in Stockton, French Camp and Lathrop.  10 clerks sold alcohol to the minors, 
which is illegal. 

Those who sold alcohol to the minors face a minimum fine of $250, and/or 24 to 32 hours 
of community service for a first violation. In addition, ABC may take administrative 
action against the businesses where alcohol was sold to minors. Disciplinary action 
against a business can result in a fine, suspension or revocation of the license. 

ABC organized the decoy operation with help from the California Highway Patrol and the 
Stockton Police Department in order to reduce sales of alcohol to persons under the age of 
21 and try to reduce alcohol-related crashes. 

ABC is conducting the compliance checks state-wide to reduce the availability of alcohol 
to minors. Young people under the age of 21 have a higher rate of drunken driving 
fatalities than the general adult population. 

Minor Decoy operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the 
state since the 1980’s. When the program first began, the violation rate of retail 
establishments selling to minors was as high as 40 to 50 percent. When conducted on a 
routine basis, the rate has dropped in some cities as low as 10 percent or even below. The 
latest violation rate state-wide is below 20 percent. In 1994, the California Supreme Court 
ruled unanimously that use of underage decoys is a valid tool of law enforcement to 
ensure that liquor licensees are complying with the law. 

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic 
Safety, through the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency. Funding was also 
provided through the CHP DUI Corridor Grant . 
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