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ABC Conducts Compliance Check and Visits 15 San Luis Obispo County Businesses
Only One Sells Alcohol to a Minor

South San Luis Obispo County - Investigators of the California Department Alcoholic Beverage
Control (ABC) cited one clerk for selling alcohol to a minor during an enforcement operation on
Saturday, February 2, 2007. The action was the result of a compliance check operation in which
minors under the direct supervision of the investigators, attempted to purchase alcohol from 15
separate retail licensees in the incorporated and unincorporated areas of South San Luis Obispo
County.

Those who sell alcohol to a minor face a minimum fine of $250, and/or 24 to 32 hours of
community service for a first violation. In addition, ABC will take administrative action against the
alcoholic beverage license of the business where the sale occurred. That may include a fine, a
suspension of the liquor license, or the permanent revocation of the license.

ABC is conducting the compliance checks state-wide to reduce the availability of alcohol to
minors. .

Minor Decoy operations have been conducted by local law enforcement throughout the state since
the 1980’s. When the program first began, the violation rate of retail establishments selling to
minors was as high as 40 to 50 percent. When conducted on a routine basis, the rate has dropped
In some cities as low as 10 percent or even below.

In 1994, the California Supreme Court ruled unanimously that use of underage decoys is a valid
tool of law enforcement to ensure that liquor licensees are complying with the law.

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety,
through the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency. ABC is a department of the Business,
Transportation and Housing Agency.
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