
 

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA — BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION AND HOUSING AGENCY Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor 

DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100  
Sacramento, CA  95834 
(916) 419-2500 

 

 
CONTACT:   John Carr       May 24, 2012 

ABC Public Information Office (916) 419-2525     PR 12-22 

 

Two Winchester Women Charged in Connection with Alcohol-Related Death 
ABC TRACE Investigation Determines 20-Year-Old and 41-Year-Old Supplied Alcohol to Minors 

 
 

Temecula (Riverside County) – Riverside County District Attorney Paul Zellerbach today 
announced that a 20-year-old Winchester woman and her 41-year-old mother face charges of 
furnishing alcohol to a 19-year-old woman who was the driver in a fatal alcohol-related crash 
back in January 2012.  
 
The California Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) opened a Target Responsibility for Alcohol 
Connected Emergencies (TRACE) case after a crash investigation by the California Highway 
Patrol (CHP). The ABC investigator who worked on the TRACE case conducted a series of 
interviews and examination of evidence and determined that 20-year-old Desiree Anguiano and 
her 41-year-old mother Maria Ana Anguiano of Winchester hosted a house party on January 
22, 2012 and supplied alcohol to 19-year-old Ashly Rodriguez of Murrieta. Later that night, 
Rodriguez was involved in a single vehicle alcohol-related crash on Borel Road near Temecula 
that killed 19-year-old Aaron Ellison of Murrieta. Ellison was a passenger in the car that 
Rodriguez was driving when the crash occurred. 
 
Ms. Rodriguez was arrested by CHP Officer Juan Garcia for felony DUI and gross vehicular 
manslaughter. On May 15, 2012, Rodriguez pled guilty to the charges. If given the maximum 
sentence she could receive a 12-year prison term.   
 
On May 24, 2012, the Riverside County District Attorney’s Office filed misdemeanor charges 
against both 20-year-old Denise Anguiano and her 41-year-old mother Maria Ana Anguiano. 
“This case sadly is a perfect example of the tragic consequences that can happen when alcohol 
is provided to a minor,” said Zellerbach. “First, underage drinkers should not be drinking at all. 
Period. And second, adults, who should be the ones setting the proper example for the minors, 
also need to know and consider the consequences. They can be, and will be whenever possible, 
prosecuted for supplying alcohol to someone underage.” 
 
The Anguianos have been charged with one count each of furnishing alcohol to a minor leading 
to great bodily harm or death. The charges were filed as a result of the TRACE investigation by 
the CHP and ABC. 
 



 

 

TRACE is an eight year old ABC program. The program allows for ABC investigators to 
conduct investigations throughout California which involve minors, alcohol and serious 
injuries or fatalities. 
 
The TRACE program is made possible by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety 
(OTS) through the National Highway Transportation and Safety Administration. The grant 
provides funding for in-depth ABC investigations of serious incidents including car crashes, 
but also alcohol overdoses, poisonings and assaults that result from alcohol consumption by 
minors.   
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